Summer Adventure Days 3 & 4

Ciao da Cisliano

Wednesday –

As I mentioned before, my flight was delayed so I was a little overwhelmed/ self conscious about my sweating haha when I met my host family. True Italian form they all gave me a kiss on the cheek and I found it amusing that the boys were my height! We drove back home and I found Chiara to be a crazy driver so that was very funny. The house was amazing. It’s a three story Italian house with a den and mini gym in the basement on a cul-de-sac of a cute little Italian village outside of Milan, Cisliano. You could tell how small the village was because everyone stared as we walked by. In the car ride mom asked me what my favorite food was and I said pesto anything so she was sure to make me pesto that night she said… or so we thought, she was out of pesto and ended up using Olive pate that she thought was pesto. I liked it, no one else did haha. I guess my palate isn’t as sophisticated.

However, before all of this she told me Alice– the 5 yr old, pronounced Ah-lee-che, had an end of school BBQ I could attend. I was pretty exhausted and really wanted to shower and unpack so a passed and had the house to myself for the first afternoon so that was pretty cool.
When she came home with the boys and Alice in tow, I met who was to become my crazy 5 year old spoiled but super cute host sister, lol I can’t get enough of when she dances around in her underwear musing to herself in Italian. Or how I caught her folding her arms and putting on a tough face in the mirror when she was trying on her sunglasses inside. When Chiara came back we went on a few errands, one, to check on the prices of the all important, Trefor Club, (the town’s new state of the art fitness and relaxation center), check the stationery story for the boys summer books, where there was an African man outside hawking goods– even in a small town– and went for ice cream, of course. I didn’t realize how important ice cream had become to my daily life until I got here to Switzerland.

Family dinner was great and Chiara’s husband Paolo is sooo funny!
None the less I was still really out of it, overwhelmed and feeling weird because of all the coffee I drank in an attempt to stay awake. I fell asleep a 9pm in my room, which is the Study. And then I woke up at 3am, unable to get back to sleep until 7am the next day. I was still feeling off and overwhelmed and I even cried myself to sleep that night. I missed the ease of home, I was feeling overwhelmed about the prospect of speaking Italian all summer and I really, really, hated the idea of being so far from Logan except NY and Italy at times might as well be the same distance from California. I spoke to Sade for hours about her wedding and Kat about the experience. I called Logan, whispering at 7am and my voice was shaking because I was going to cry so I told him I had to go.

Alice

Thursday
So today we kind of lounged around until I had to take the kids to the Trefor club. Chiara drove us and we stayed there for about 5 hours. It was kind of nice lounging by the pool and I got a lot of reading done and am almost finished with Teresa’s book. It was my first real day here and I am definitely warming up the experience. The kids are really sweet and I’ve spent a lot of time with Alice today at the pool. Also during the day, while Chiara was out, her sister and mother stopped by. She mentioned to me her mother and father were manufacturers and producers of faux fur and had a factory and store in Milan and I helped her translate some stuff for the company’s website. So while she was out Nonna Castro stopped by with her other daughter. They were sooo sweet and fun, and just spoke to me in Italian. Nonna Castro gave me a fur headband like old ladies wear so I’m very excited to rock that in the winter instead of my fur earmuffs. Afterwards we had dinner with the family’s friends from the neighborhood: one great guy Guido from Napoli, a musician, and his cute wife who just got braces, their two adorable sons and then I forget the name of the other couple but you can tell they weren’t as close to my family.  The wife was quiet while the husband was kind of obnoxious and made it his purpose during dinner to torment me with questions in Italian like what I thought of Berlusconi, what I thought of 9/11, how was I affected by it etc. Funny too because Halley and I were just making fun of people that go, “Oh you’re from NY?! How was 9/11 for you?” Dinner lasted roughly 5 hrs and we didn’t leave the restaurant until 1! It was interesting because in the dining room of this restaurant there was a flat screen TV from which you could view the children’s playroom– where you sent your kids when you didn’t want to be bothered with them during dinner. I thought it was a genius idea! The main purpose of the dinner was for my family to watch a slide show of the other family’s Maldives vacation that they took last April. My family is planning a trip to the Maldives with them in Decemeber. I almost couldn’t resist laughing as the initial song coming up in the slide show’s play list was none other than 50 cents’ Candy Shop. So seductive…

December 2, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , . Travel, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

